Annual Awards

Annual Awards Luncheon Chamber San Mateo County

Each year, Chamber San Mateo County presents awards to recognize individuals and organizations that have made lasting contributions and impacts in the areas of public service, education, business and labor and community development.

2023 Honorees

Anna Eshoo

Cornerstone Award – Congresswoman Anna Eshoo

The Cornerstone Award recognizes those who make a meaningful and lasting impact in their communities, devoting their time, talents, and resources to community development and philanthropic initiatives.

This year’s honoree was Congresswoman Anna G. Eshoo, who has served the people of San Mateo County as an elected leader for over 40 years with honor, integrity and distinction. She was recognized for her continued commitment to the community in advocating for industry, transportation, housing, education, and the environment, and for championing causes that are important to her constituents, the community and the nation.

Julie Lind

Woman of the Year – Julie Lind

Co-sponsored by Heritage Bank of Commerce, the Woman of the Year award recognizes outstanding women that shine in four key areas: leadership development, mentoring/mentorship, lifelong learning, and character.

 Julie Lind, head of the San Mateo County Labor Council, was selected as this year’s honoree and is the only labor leader to receive the award in its 40-year history. As secretary-treasurer of the Labor Council, she has modernized her position and the organization she leads through partnerships and collaboration. Lind was recognized for regularly participating in advocacy efforts alongside Chamber San Mateo County in support of local, regional, state, and federal funding for transit, transportation, infrastructure, development, and other policy priorities that ensure a strong local economy in San Mateo County.

award winners 2023

Tom Mohr “Champion of Education” Awards – Dr. Jamillah Moore, Arbor Bay School and Footsteps Child Care, Inc.

Named for the late Tom Mohr, an educator and community leader who dedicated more than a half- century to further the cause, impact, and profession of public education, this award recognizes individuals and organizations who champion educational equity. This year’s recipients exemplified the values of Tom Mohr:

  • Jamillah Moore, vice president for Student Affairs at San Francisco State University, was recognized for her career in higher education and making college more accessible, affordable and equitable for students across California, particularly for students of color.
  • Arbor Bay School, founded in 2003 and located in San Carlos, the school was recognized for providing wrap-around services of education, therapy and enrichment designed to create challenge-based learning opportunities for all students in a warm and nurturing environment.
  • Footsteps Child Care, Inc., located in Belmont, has served the community for 30 years, and was recognized for developing into a whole-child partnership with students and their families from birth to high school, and helping raise, nurture and educate children and providing a safe space for them to learn, grow, explore and thrive.
Amy Buckmaster

Chamber Board Chair’s Person of the Year – Amy Buckmaster

This award is the highest bestowed by Chamber San Mateo County and recognizes the person, who more than anyone, has made the greatest impact on the success of a Board chair’s year of service. Amy Buckmaster, president and CEO of Chamber San Mateo County, was named as recipient of this year’s award by Board chair Lennies Gutierrez. Buckmaster was recognized for being a mentor to many young, emerging leaders, expanding the Chamber to include four cities, growing the organization’s preeminent Leadership Program, and being a partner and collaborator with elected officials, organizations and members. Her leadership has resulted in a regional business association focusing on the vitality and success of County of San Mateo and its residents and businesses.